Main Content


Meet the teams

Our race is all about the people bold enough to compete in it. Discover who our sailors are, where they come from and how they made the cut to take part in this round-the-world adventure.

In 2014-15, an all-female crew will race against Volvo Ocean Race experts and first-time rookies. You will see sailors from China, from America, from The Netherlands, from Abu Dhabi, from Spain – and more will be announced in the next months.

The one-design concept helped to broaden the platform and ensure close racing. These teams will commence battle on the water on October 4, 2014 – follow us as they embark on this great challenge!

Download the case study of return of investment for teams in the race. (17mb PDF)

  • Meet the Spanish team

    Spain is back fin the race with Iker Martínez and Xabi Fernández. And with one clear objective: claim the nation's first victory. Read more

  • Meet Team Alvimedica

    They are young, they are American, and they joined forces with a Turkish sponsor to bring to reality their seven-year dream of doing the race. Read more

  • Meet Team Brunel

    Dutch expert Bouwe Bekking sailed the race six times – but has yet to win. He is back with a crew of Dutch and international guys and he means business. Read more

  • Dongfeng Race Team - Trainning in Sanya
    Meet Dongfeng Race Team

    Dongfeng means “the eastern wind” and this ambitious Chinese team, skippered by Frenchman Charles Caudrelier, will furnish a crew that is half Chinese, half international. Read more

  • ADOR latest team recruits Fisher, Harmer, Slattery & McLean
    Meet Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing

    Ian Walker is back at the helm of the falcon boat. The Emirati project has the experience, the determination and the time to succeed this time around. A strong contender. Read more

  • Meet Team SCA

    Who said sailing was a masculine sport? Meet the women of Team SCA, the first all-female crew to enter the race in more than a decade. Read more

  • Team sponsorship

    Interested in sponsoring a team in the race? Contact our commercial team. Read more